Ezekiel 40-41

Ezekiel 40-41

Click here for today’s reading http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Ezekiel%2040;41&version=NIV

A second vision of the Temple. In the first vision that Ezekiel had, it was of the existing Temple and the defilement. This one is NEW and not defiled.

Two things caught my eye in the first two verses were:
We are told that “In the twentieth year of our captivity…” This means the year was 572 B.C.

2. The next thing was “the hand of the LORD was upon me, and brought me….into the land of Israel, HE set me upon a very high mountain, by which was the frame of the city on the south.”

I am continually amazed how Ezekiel KNEW God’s HAND was upon him and took him to a very high mountain to SHOW Ezekiel something important. Something he was to share with all HIS people. You know…. God still does that to us today!! WHAT an intimate relationship Ezekiel had with OUR GOD!!!

So why are we being given such a detailed description of the Temple? What does it all mean? To be quite honest, I don’t have the answers. I have read several commentaries today from scholars on the meaning of these chapters and a few of them said: “I am still not clear on the complete meaning of these chapters, but know God will make it plain in HIS time.”

We have seen details of the Temple before…..God gave details to Moses for the Tabernacle, God gave details for the Temple to David and those were passed on to Solomon. The basic structure is the same as we have read before. The uses of each area are the same as it was in the past.

So, today I am going to leave you with the same questions my mentor left me with from her blog last year. I have asked God to reveal to me and to each person reading exactly what He would like us to know from this reading. I pray God speaks to you personally and I pray you will share.

Here are the questions to consider:
Is this a vision of the rebuilding of the Temple on the Holy Land?
Is the Temple being described the Temple that will be built for the millennium Reign?
Is the Temple described the New Temple that will be built in the New Heaven?
Is the Temple a figurative description the New Temple IN EACH of us because HE lives in US?
Is the Temple talking about all four of the above scenarios?

I KNOW these are big questions so take some time to pray and ASK God what HIS message is for you personally.

For me, I am once again in awe of the details which reminds me of how detailed our God is…look at how full of miracles the human body is in its construction!! I am also touched by God’s grace and how important it is that EVERY part of our Temple be totally devoted to HIM….cleansed…prepared…in heart, body, mind, and spirit.

God tells HIS people over and over again “IF you will just return to me…” and it makes me think of how important it is for us to CHOOSE to GIVE ALL of ourselves to HIM. I mean …He created us….He placed us here on earth for a purpose….and part of that purpose begins by CHOOSING HIM so we can be TOTALLY devoted to HIM. Think of how many times you have heard through your reading of Scripture, God say: “RETURN to ME.” So if HIS desire is for us to RETURN to HIM that means we were with HIM long before now…..and HE wants us to CHOOSE to RETURN to HIM.

I am sure the scattered Israelites and Judeans recalled stories of how GREAT the temple was…maybe they recalled seeing if for themselves….maybe the reminder of the past and HOPE of the future was to stir their desire for God.

Ezekiel was giving HIS people a message of HOPE for the day they were living in, for the coming of the Messiah, and for the last days.

God wants ALL of us…every cell, every thought, every fiber of our being to be devoted to HIM, to praise HIM, to KNOW that the JOY of the LORD is our strength.

Sharing HIS love,

Leave a Reply

