Isaiah 59-63

Isaiah 59-63

Click here for today’s reading: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Isaiah%2059-63&version=NIV;AMP

One of my wonderful mentors pointed out to me that SIN = Self Indulgent Nature and God does NOT like this. A GREAT way to remember what SIN means. HE wants ALL our LOVE, focus, heart ALL on HIM.

Today was a challenging read for me, some of it so very beautiful and some brought deep tears of the heart. I am sure each of you have experienced ONE thing that forever changed your life. This is not the first time a “ONE thing” has forever changed my life (marriage, birth, new pets, death, job losses, health, betrayal, car accidents, doctor reports, and the list could go on and on). My husband’s recent job loss and retirement after 21 years of being a highly esteemed employee is causing drastic changes in our lives. We KNOW our God is BIGGER than our challenges, health, job and financial needs, dreams, desires, hopes, our sins, and ourselves. WE KNOW HE can open doors no one else can open and close doors no one else can close. However, reading today’s reading hit me hard ….. almost as if all the air and words have been sucked right out of my body, and mind. Ever have one of those days? I am so very thankful that the Holy Spirit and Jesus Christ intercede on my/our behalf …because there are days when I simply don’t know what to pray.

I am praying for strength to remain faithful and accountable. I deeply apologize that I miss posting some days and ask your forgiveness (again.) I also pray I have not harmed your faithfulness. I may miss more days…but one this is for sure… I will finish the entires for 365 days…even if it means if takes me 400 days to complete it.

CHAPTER 59 — So in this part of Isaiah, the prophet points out to Israel (and to us) that our sin is what is separating us from God. They seek Him but cannot find Him. Why? SIN!! Why can some hear, feel, see God yet some ….. not at all? Yes, we ALL have sinned and will sin. However, the Lord is pointing out that each of us has to make a CHOICE between one of two paths. One is the road you are on, the other is to acknowledge the sin (confession) and REPENT, agree with God that the sin is wrong and CHANGE our lives accordingly. The GOOD NEWS is in verse 20:

“The Redeemer will come to Zion,
to those in Jacob who REPENT of their sins, DECLARES the LORD.”

HALLELUJAH!!!! is all I can say on that one.

CHAPTER 60 gives a picture of a transformed Jerusalem (and us!!!) Verse 5 was awesome: “THEN you will look and be radiant, your heart will throb and sell with joy; and the wealth on the seas will be brought to YOU, to YOU the riches of the nations will come…” Beginning in verse 17 I LOVE some of the WORDS: “I will make peace your governor, and righteousness your ruler.” Verse 19: “…for the LORD will be your everlasting light and your God will be your glory.” Verse 20 “…your days of sorrow will END.” And the last verse….can you say REVELATION?? “I am the Lord; and in its time I will do this swiftly!!” All of this is about the NEW JERUSALEM…HEAVEN…NO darkness EVER…NO sun or moon will be needed because the LIGHT will be WITH US ALWAYS….God’s GLORY is the LIGHT!!

CHAPTER 61 — WHAT if I told you that JESUS read THIS very Scripture in the Temple??? Go to Luke 4:

“He went to Nazareth, where he had been brought up, and on the Sabbath day he went into the synagogue, as was his custom. And he stood up to read. The scroll of the prophet Isaiah was handed to him. Unrolling it, he found the place where it is written:
”The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to release the oppressed,
to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.” Then he rolled up the scroll, gave it back to the attendant and sat down. The eyes of everyone in the synagogue were fastened on him, and he began by saying to them, “Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.”

He is READING from the book of Isaiah, a PROPHECY of the coming SAVIOR (of HIMSELF!!!) Can you picture it?

Jesus in EVERY verse of this chapter! Can you see it? A Righteous Oak, a Double Portion, a Crown of Beauty, a Robe of Salvation!

Verse 3 — reminded me of a song with the words from THIS verse!! “HE gives beauty for ashes, strength for fear, gladness for mourning, and peace for despair.” WHAT PEACE that brings!!!

Verse 7 spoke so very loudly to me today — “…my people will receive a double portion…” A double portion of ALL GOD has through HIS son Jesus Christ. I pray for a double portion because OUR LIVING GOD is BIGGER than everything we have going on in our lives and I KNOW HE wants to bless us so we may be a blessing to others for HIM!!

CHAPTER 62. Many of you know the Lord’s Prayer from Matthew. “Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done”.. Now read 62:1: “For the Kingdom’s sake (Zion) I will not remain quiet!!” THY WILL BE DONE…powerful words. THY will is God’s will yet HE is such a loving, merciful, gracious God that when we align our desires up with HIS will…..our desires come to pass as well. The great commission… “GO” and tell others about what God/Jesus Christ has done for you….a personal story of truth so others may come to KNOW HIM requires that our actions are to NOT keep silent so others may see HIS GLORY in me and in all I do. God has placed a fire that burns deeply within each of us to do something to further THE KINGDOM here on earth. And, when HE has given you a fire that will not burn out within you….you HAVE to share it….know what I mean?

The remainder of the chapter is filled with HOPE….REDEMPTION…”SEE YOUR SAVIOR COMES….” “HOLY PEOPLE”….!!

CHAPTER 63 — God’s Vengeance and Redemption. Read verses 7-19 over, read them out loud. It reviews our reading for the past 200+ days and it tells us so much about God’s character….how HE LOVED Israel and us even in the rebellion…..HE still planned to send a REDEEMER!!! EVERY ONE of God’s prophecies WILL come to pass…..LOOK at HOW MANY already HAVE!!! There is one BIG one left…..Jesus’ 2nd coming….The NEW Jerusalem….The NEW Eden…HEAVEN…forever and ever……and it too will come to pass….IN HIS TIMING!!!!

Sharing HIS love,

Leave a Reply

