Proverbs 27-29

Proverbs 27-29

Click here for today’s reading http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Proverbs%2027-29&version=NLT

I switched versions on you today (I may have used the NLT yesterday as well) in the event that you click on the reading through this page. It’s a little different but sometimes we can see something in a new light that we have never seen before simply by switching versions…. and there are a lot of good versions. http://www.biblegateway.com allows you to add parallel versions so you can compare the wording. And of course if you really want to dig into the original Hebrew or Greek meanings of certain words http://www.blueletterbible.org is an awesome resource, it ONLY uses the KJV…but GREAT information to deepen our wisdom of God.

SO much wisdom in the Proverbs!! As I read them (actually this goes for the entire Bible), they can make perfect sense, yet LIVING them takes an awesome amount of commitment, desire, belief, and humility. Each time I read Proverbs I am painfully aware of my short comings and humbly grateful that Jesus died for me and for each believer so we may have life to the full till it overflows….. here on earth and that’s before we ever make it to the glory of heaven. HALLELUJAH!!!

The verses that stuck out the most to me today were:

27:4 Anger is cruel, and wrath is like a flood,but jealousy is even more dangerous.

It is AMAZING how jealousy is MORE dangerous than anger and wrath!! I know I have seen jealousy destroy many people in its wake including the jealous one!!

27:6 – “The wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.”
Has a friend ever hurt you so badly that your heart was crushed, you CHOSE to forgive, and the hurt they brought was a HUGE teachable moment in your life?

The next Proverb hit me like a ton of bricks as if to say this is how you should pray for the US and our President and all of our leaders NOW and for the future. My prayer became “Lord, let not our nation be a nation of moral rot so that our government does not topple easily. Lord, I pray for wisdom and knowledge for EACH of our leaders so they may bring stability to this great land now and forever. And, Lord show me how I can do my part.”
28:2 When there is moral rot within a nation, its government topples easily.
But wise and knowledgeable leaders bring stability.
We need to PRAY for our leaders on all levels in all areas (church, city, county, state, country, and in our homes.) Being a leader is not an easy job and it is often a lonely one. A leader who loves The Lord and chooses to follow HIS ways and HIS teachings and try to bring them into others lives in a respectful, honorable manner….has a very hard job and they NEED and covet our prayers. Leaders who do not need The Lord need our prayers all the more …. praying that God will use them “anyway” to lead us back on the proper path.

28:27 –“He who gives to the poor will lack nothing…”

29:25 — “Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in The Lord is kept safe.”

YEA YA BABY….. I vote for trust in The Lord and not allowing ourselves to become snared through fear of man. Fear of anything except The Lord will lead, if not to destruction…., to not living the full life God has in store for us. Fear prevents us from living the dreams that God placed in our hearts LONG ago. Fear can destroy us if we are afraid of people, places, things, dreams, goals, careers, etc.

What are you afraid of? What holds you back from living your best life? Are you willing to lay it at the feet of Jesus and tell HIM….Lord I want to live for you. I do not want to have fear of anyone or anything EXCEPT you because your word says “fear is the beginning of wisdom, knowledge, understanding”… and I want your wisdom, knowledge, and understanding so I may live the life you planned for me from the beginning. I want to use the talents YOU gave me for YOUR glory. Help me Lord to turn everything over to you….my money, my career, my food, my obsessive compulsive behaviors, my desire for approval, my need for security, any idols obvious or hidden,……(or whatever The Lord is showing you)….Lord HELP me use all I have for you TODAY…one day at a time…one step at a time. I lay down the past. I won’t look to the future to wait for the “right time to do what you are telling me to do.” I CHOOSE to believe you have already prepared me with what I need right now to do what you have placed on my heart…..so Lord…it’s me and YOU…. powering ahead all for your glory!!

Share if you dare…truly it is all in confidence …. unless you feel lead to share it on the blog below.

Sharing HIS love

 

2 responses

  1. […] Proverbs 27-29 (hisstillsmallvoice.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

