Psalms 131, 138, 139, 143, 144, 145

Psalm 131, 138, 139, 143, 144, 145

Click here for today’s reading http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%20131,%20138,%20139,%20143,%20144,%20145&version=NIV

What an awesome way to begin and end a beautiful Saturday!!

Psalm 131– This Psalm was written by David and is one of the songs of ascent when climbing the steps of the Temple to enter in HIS dwelling place. Think about it… David could not build the Temple nor did he live to see it. Yet David wrote all these Words of PRAISE that the people could sing or say to praise the Lord as they climbed the steps of the Temple with expectation.

Verse 2 states: “but I have stilled and quieted my soul;” Is those not sweet sweet Words to our Spirit, soul, body, and mind. So… how did this stillness and quiet come about? David says in the first verse he was not proud, which tells us he was humble and totally trusted The Lord.

If you ever want to do a bible study on the topic of pride, KNOW it is mentioned a LOT int he bible…. and so are the benefits of humility and trust in our God. According to http://www.blueletterbible.com which uses the KJV look at the number of times the following words are mentioned in the Bible (KJV); “pride” is mentioned 49 times, “proud” is also mentioned 49 times, humility 7 times, humble 25 times, meek 17 times, and meekness 14 times. I have always been taught if The Lord says something once, it is very important. If HE says anything 3 times we need to stand up and pay attention. So… these words MUST be very important for us to KNOW and live by because they are all said a LOT.

Psalm 138 — was written by David and it’s theme is thanksgiving for answered prayer. Through David’s thanks we see many attributes of God — “I will bow down….praise YOUR name….YOUR love…..YOUR faithfulness…exalted above all…YOU answered me…the glory of The Lord is great…HE cares for the lowly…fulfill HIS purpose…endures forever….not abandon.” Did you notice in verse 6 that “the proud He knows from afar?” “Afar” means is separates us from God; therefore HE allows HIMself to be distant. I Pride is an excessively high opinion of oneself. When we are prideful we are pretty far from God. BUT when we are HUMBLE and TRUST….we know the peace as in Psalm 131.

Psalm 139 — Another Psalm written by David and the theme focuses on ALL that God is. God is ALL seeing, ALL knowing, ALL powerful, present EVERYWHERE in the past, present, and future ALL at the same time. I am continually AMAZED that God knows me so deeply, EVERYTHING about me, I mean…HE created me…..and he STILL loves me so VERY much that HE desires a continual relationship with me (and you.) I mean… there are days when I don’t like myself and if I could I’d take a vacation from ME…BUT GOD WANTS me with HIM 24/7. Gods knows me so well that HE knows ALL about me…my thoughts, my heart, my actions …past, present, and future, and HE even knows what I am going to say or think next!! MIND BLOWER!! AND a DEEP DEEP blessing!!

Verse 7 says: “WHERE can I go from YOUR SPIRIT?” And the answer is NO WHERE!!

Verse 13 says: “YOU created my inmost being; YOU knit me together in my mother’s womb……I am fearfully and wonderfully made….my frame was not hidden from YOU when I was made in the secret place…YOU saw my unformed body…”

And we end with: “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and LEAD ME in the way everlasting.”

I know I have said this before, probably many times, my I am always blessed at the psalmists’ honesty regardless of the topic and most Psalms if not all always contain some form of telling God how great HE is. Whether they were angry, desiring vengeance (for God to perform the vengeance), thankful, afraid, in awe, seeking help, or refuge among other things….they let it be know to God. I used to think there was no way I could be that open with HIM. I also used to wonder if some of the psalmists weren’t a tad schizophrenic saying things such as …..”why are you so far from me”…. then “YOU are a great God.” BUT… I learned through God’s gracious love, mercy, and grace taught by HIS Word and in my life; that they weren’t schizophrenic …. they simply were expressing both sides….their raw emotions and then their knowledge that their GOD was THEIR GOD and HE loved them, protected them, heard them, and so much more….just as HE does for us. Their honesty and their praises of God encourage my heart and mind to have the same kind of relationship with HIM…but ours is even deeper because the HOLY SPIRIT LIVES INSIDE OF US…not between the Cherubim on the ARK…not on tablets of stone…not on Aaron’s staff that turned into almond buds….not manna in a jar….IN US!!!

God WANTS us to cry out to HIM, depend on HIM for EVERYTHING, sometimes HE answers our cries better than we ever could have imagined, sometimes HE says no or not now, and sometimes HE says wait, believe, and see what I store for you my sweet love even though it is something you can’t begin to imagine…..in MY time.

I have grown deeply in reading God’s Word and gained strength to be open and honest with HIM and pray boldly for HIS peace, prosperity (not just talking about money here), healing, favor, grace, mercy AND even to pray: “Lord, if “it” does not please YOU, change “it” in me, my words, my thoughts, my habits, my actions, my relationships….whatever is not pleasing to YOU…change me so I do not desire “it” and so I am in line with YOU.

Psalm 143– Go ahead guess who wrote this one…. YOU GOT IT…our man David!! The theme is a prayer in the midst of hopelessness and depression. We see a perfect example of David’s deep honesty in this Psalm yet all the while he is praising the Lord!! We’ve read most of David’s story thus far in our journey. We KNOW his flaws …his lust for women (as seen in his MANY wives), his affair with Bathsheba, his plan for premeditated murder for Uriah, pride in himself to believe (albeit briefly) that he could get by with all this. Yet when I read David’s words in this Psalm, I am not thinking about all he did wrong … I am thinking of his honesty before HIS God….and what I HAVE DONE or DO WRONG. We all have our own issues in our life that we fight/deal with/work to overcome. Finances, stinking thinking, pride, depression, over eating, loneliness, addiction, loss, failure…It pursues us. satan wants NOTHING less than for us to be in the slimy pit.

Close your eyes. Go ahead….I’ll here <<<smile>>> Now, think of the one thing the enemy whispers to you that you hate…it calls to you…you can’t stop doing or thinking whatever it is… It pursues you. It controls you. Now read this Psalm again in whatever version touches you most…. read it OUT LOUD. If you lean into this God, our God, YOUR GOD, HE can and WILL crush whatever it is that has a hold of us.

Psalm 144– Another Psalm written by David rejoicing in God’s care regardless of circumstances. This goes along with Philippians 4:12-13 “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

The line that takes my breath away is verse 3 “O Lord, what is man that you care for him…” God needs nothing, yet HE desires our true, heartfelt, humble, love and devotion. And in ALL our sin, HE knows us and STILL wants this precious relationship with us. He wants us to succeed so much that HE sent HIS only son so “that WHOSOEVER would believe in HIM would not perish but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16)

“Man is just a breath…” HOW true is this…our life here may sometimes seem long….but it is just a breath….our time here is short in comparison to all eternity and oh how important it is to KNOW Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior for this life and the next.

Look at all the attributes of God this Psalm focuses on…….Rock, Fortress, Stronghold, Deliverer, Shield, Refuge, Defender (fights our battles for us). Listener, Desirer of a life filled with blessings for now and for future generations.

Psalm 145– was written by David as well and has a theme concerning one day — ALL will recognize WHO God is and will worship HIM. The verse that touched me deeply today was verse 14: “The Lord upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down.” HE loves us, is always with us, and one day….. EVERY knee shall bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is LORD.

“Great is the LORD,and greatly to be praised;
And His greatness is unsearchable.”

Sharing HIS love,

3 responses

  1. […] Psalms 131, 138, 139, 143, 144, 145 (hisstillsmallvoice.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Psalms 131, 138, 139, 143, 144, 145 (hisstillsmallvoice.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Psalms 131, 138, 139, 143, 144, 145 (hisstillsmallvoice.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

