Psalms 56, 120, 140-142

I HOPE all of this information comes through on wordpress from my ipad. I MUST remind myself that this blog… is not only HIS but HE can put on there whatever HE wants on there. I am CHOOSING NOT to get wigged out about the technical challenges. AMEN

Today we are reading Psalms 56, 120, 140-142. For whatever reason the ipad will not allow me to select many of the functions on WordPress so you can simply click over. I will enter the link here but you may have to cut an paste to read these on http://www.biblegateway.com The link is http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalms%2056,%20120,%20140-141&version=NIV

There is a BEAUTIFUL song of worship that goes along with Psalm 141 today. It is “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus” with Michael W. Smith and a guest violinist … OH MY HEAVENS…. it takes you right into the presence of our Almighty God!! The link is on http://www.youtube.com and is http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=related&v=vWxb6VvPrkE
Another song is titled “You are my hiding place” by the Maranatha Singers. It is very short but sounds like something you would have heard sung by the Hebrew nation. It is also on http://www.youtube.com The link is http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=HI-Uo3U3TRo

I pray each of these links are easy for you to use

Psalm 56 — This is about trust and deliverance. It was probably written when David was running from Saul and when he pretended to be insane before Achish one of the kings of the Philistines. One of the verses states: “What time I am afraid I will trust in YOU.” David states he is under vows to God. “I will present my thank offerings to you… YOU have delivered me from death.” WHO does this sound like…. you got it… J-E-S-U-S… he’s my LORD AND KING … J-E-S-U-S.

Psalm 120 — This Psalm is against the tongues of others. It is the first Psalm in what is called the Psalms of Ascent. The Psalms of Ascent were a string of Psalms that would be used for a pilgrimage or for climbing and praying up theTemple steps. EACH step was a different Psalm!! It is a prayer for deliverance from false accusers. Al believers must live with the tension of being IN the world but not OF the world. Scholars believe this psalm was written by Hezekia although credit shows as anonymous. I love the verse: “I call on The Lord in my distress and HE answers me.” HALLELUJAH!!!

Both Meshech was a nation far tot he north of Israel. Kedar a nation to the SE. BOTH were known for being warlike and barbarian. The psalmist was lamenting being far from home surrounded by pagan people. Peacemaking is never easy … regardless of the time we live. There is a reason God says: “Blessed are the peacemakers” in Matthew.

Psalm 140 — This is a prayer for protection and deliverance by David. “Rescue me Lord, keep me from the hands of the wicked…YOU are my God.” David’s psalm is pure honesty…..praying for The Lord to SAVE him. David also addresses that God secures justice for the poor….meaning God cares about ALL of us regardless of our wealth, age, sex, weight, color, size, height, etc. God will be sure that those without money will also be given justice….maybe not in this lifetime…but definitely in the next with HIM.

Psalm 141 — This one is a prayer for help in temptation/protection against sin. Verse 3 says: “Set guard over my mouth.” HOW important is it that we guard what comes out of our mouths??!!! The average person opens his/her mouth approximately 700 times per day to SPEAK. Verse 4 says: “Let not my heart be drawn to what is evil (in other words David is asking that God guard his heart as well.) “Let a righteous man strike me…it is kindness. Let him rebuke me…it is oil on my head. My head will not refuse it.” Verse 8 – But my eyes are fixed on YOU–in YOU I take refuge. Keep me from the snares they have laid for me. Revelation tells us that The Lord COLLECTS EACH prayer we wave and puts EACH one in a bowl!!! WHOAA!!! Our prayers are important to HIM!!!

Psalm 142– This is a prayer when overwhelmed and desperate and most likely written when David was hiding in the caves. I can ONLY imagine how lonely and secluded he must have felt and in many ways he may have felt a loss of freedom….almost as if in a prison. He says I cry to you Lord, you are my REFUGE… no one cares for my life. David goes further to say “THEN the righteous will gather about me because of YOUR goodness in me.”

I don’t know about you guys but I could so relate to each of these Psalms today. As deeply as I could relate with them on an emotional level. God’s peace poured over me knowing HE is always with me. I am NEVER alone. HE is my REFUGE. HE has made a way for me in my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

May each of you be touched deeply today in a most personal way from this reading!

Sharing HIS love,

 

 

Leave a Reply

